Adventures in Writing…writing as a process.

I hope this might be of interest.

I often find it hard to explain the writing process. For me it is purely intuitive and instinctive. I’m not one for learning lessons or reading ‘how-to’ websites and books. I write novels. End of. It is difficult for me to convey how I do things. I’m not like this in history. When I teach history, I can impart not just the knowledge, but the understanding too. I help students to research, plan and write essays. But when it comes to creative writing…well…

A lot of it comes from practise, of course it does. Writing regularly makes you better at writing! But not simply the mechanics of writing, knowing how  to pace a story, you also need patience, time and determination to read back over what you have produced, critically. To be able to pick out the grammar, spelling, syntax errors. To look for POV discrepancies, passive voice, and to step into the head of a reader, not only a writer. This is absolutely essential I feel, which is why I always read passages of dialogue out loud. That way I not only check for silly mistakes, but I can hear whether or not the dialogue is realistic and natural.

OK, given all of that, this is how it works…

A germ of an idea comes into my head. This is the most difficult part to explain, as I have no idea where these ideas come from. I invariably know if I’m going to pursue this initial idea and develop it from the feeling I get in my gut. If I achieve the ‘buzz’, that thrill which rushes through my insides, then I know I’ve got it. This happened recently with ‘Roadkill’, where my initial idea just blossomed and the whole story mapped its way in front of me as if by its own volition. If this doesn’t happen to me, it is rare that I pursue the idea. Fairly soon I find myself thinking about the story at the most inopportune of times – often when I’m in a meeting, or somebody is talking to me about something really important. Well, importance is relative, isn’t it…because, to be frank, there is not much else which is important apart from my story!

Roadkill_Cover

Next, I sit down and begin to jot down a simple 10 step plan. Nothing hugely detailed, just the very bare bones of the initial thought, developed into a sort of structure.

Then, I begin to look at things much more deeply, but I’m still working fast. I very rarely stop to think at this stage. I’m jotting down notes and ideas as they come, crossing things out, looking ahead, going back, all the while developing the plot, bringing in lots red-herrings, trying to keep everything meaningful.

It is this aspect, the plot development, which I consider in more detail, slowing down. The plot is everything. I usually have a very good idea of how the story will end. So, in a sense, I’m writing backwards, attempting to ensure that all the scenes, events, etc, all lead towards the finale. This doesn’t always happen, but I feel a lot more secure if it does. I am not one of those writers who can simply sit and allow the narrative to develop on its own. I need to know the general direction. HOWEVER, I am not restricted by this, and often the end can change. As can developments in the plot. And as I finally sit to write out the story, changes occur at this juncture too. Characters can die, or do something which I never envisaged. It’s exciting and keeps me on my toes.

So, I guess, my story is quite loosely planned and is always developed and changed as the writing takes over. And it DOES takes over. It consumes me totally. That first draft, I simply have to get it down. I write like someone possessed, churning out at least 6000 words in a day, sometimes more. I write at weekends and holidays (I’m a teacher, and although I have long holidays, I am simply too exhausted to write during the week…This may surprise some people, but teachers do work hard!). I usually look to write at least 65,000 words on that first draft, if it is a thriller. A piece of historical fiction, I’m looking to get down at least 80-90,000 words. So, 12000 words in any given week…maybe 6 weeks to complete the first draft, but during the holidays, this can be as little as 3 weeks.

A lot of writers say you should now look at the 2nd draft and begin to cut. Cut, cut, cut, they say. Well, that doesn’t work for me I’m sorry to say. What I tend to do is DEVELOP my scenes and my dialogue, to explain things in more detail. Not to waffle, but to simply keep it going, to bring it to life. Sometimes writing can be too short, with not enough detail. The reader needs to know what is happening and where things are happening. That means description. So, what might have begun as 65,000 words will end up as 80,000 and my historical fiction work is now coming in at around 120,000 words. BUT, as long as it makes sense and it’s entertaining, I don’t believe we need to get too hung up on word counts. The story dictates, as always.

OK, so I’ve now done the 2nd draft, and it is shaping up well. I use ‘Auto-Crit’ to help me with repetitive words and phrases, and it’s amazing what it picks up. I could have read a scene 12 times and not even noticed I’ve used the same word twice in consecutive sentences. It’s also good for picking up over-used words, and those horrible little words – that, it, then, was – which we can all shave down to the bare minimum.

Because I use publishers, once submitted (and if I’m accepted of course), I work closely with the editor in fine-tuning the work until it is ready for publication. Some editors are fantastic, some…well, we’ll leave it at that. If you’re self-publishing, you need to get hold of someone to read over what you’ve done and offer advice on pacing, as well as structure and grammar, etc. Whether you pay for this, well…that’s up to you. It’s a bloomin’ minefield out there, with all sorts of ‘experts’ offering all sorts of advice, and most of them are disreputable, so please take care. Use personal recommendations if you can and don’t be swayed by all the advertising hype. This is one of the reasons I have no intention of going self-published, but that’s just me. You may think differently, but you need to tread carefully!

Well, that’s it; my way of doing. things It is not the only way, but it’s the way that works for me. And I think that’s the important point. Whatever works well for you as an individual. But it is damned hard work, and is full of set-backs, self doubt and despair. Some people simply can’t do it, or they only ever write one book. For me, it is a passion. The drive to create. I live to tell stories and I hope that some of you feel the same way too.

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you’ve found something of interest here. I’m always willing to give help, advice and encouragement to budding writers, so please comment or visit my website to find out more about me and what I do.

www.stuartgyates.com

Keep reading!

 

2 Comments

Filed under fiction writing

2 responses to “Adventures in Writing…writing as a process.

  1. Great article. … But, dang, your blog title is the same as mine and you’ve been around a lot longer on here. I’m gonna have to come up with something else…

    • Ah well…I remember I had what I thought was a great title for a book and my publisher informed me there were others with the same title…So, I changed it to one of their suggestions and…guess what…low and behold, there were even more books for sale with the changed title! You just can’t win.

Leave a Reply

