Adventures in Writing…latest novel done and dusted!

Well, it was something I’d planned to do. Finish ‘King of the Norse’ before Christmas. And guess what, I’ve done it! Am I elated? You bet!

This is the first year I’ve managed to do this. Usually a current project is put aside for the Holiday and I find myself feeling stressed and a little guilty. I should be writing, not wolfing down copious amounts of food and alcohol. But not this year. I feel relaxed and well pleased with myself.

Of course, there is still much to do. I have to embark on the re-writes almost as soon as the last piece of turkey has been washed down with a glass of champagne, but the first draft is done.

A labour of love, ‘King of the Norse’ turned out to be. ‘Varangian’, the first in my series of historical thrillers featuring the legendary Harald Hardrada, is receiving some good reviews. It could do with some more. Please get in touch if you would like to take a look at this book, and write some words on Amazon – or Barnes and Noble, or even Smashwords. Email me with you address or email and I’ll send you a paperback, or e-book for whatever platform you have. sg.yates@yahoo.co.uk.

The cover for my historical novel 'Varangian'.

The cover for my historical novel ‘Varangian’.

Of course, it doesn’t end there. I’m already about 30,000 words into the next volume. I’ve also plotted out a contemporary thriller, which I will concentrate on in the New Year. These are so much easier to do, of course. Works of pure imagination. I have written four such thrillers, all of which are available from the various Amazon sites. People seem to like them and ,especially on Kindle, they are offered at extremely good prices.

STUART G YATES COLLECTION

Historical thrillers, however, require a lot of research, but I love it. I am amassing a sizeable library on Byzantine and medieval Viking history to help me and all very fascinating it is too.

I’m not sure how many volumes poor old Hardrada will need. Originally I’d planned on three, but now I’m thinking a minimum of five. There is so much to tell about this fascinating man, and the many twists and turns of his story mean the sub-plots and back-story take up an awful lot of the narrative. I’d like to think of them as being fast-paced, despite all of that detail. The lesser characters are just as fascinating. Zoe, the sex-mad empress, George Maniakes, the driven general and Nikolias the pious yet very lethal captain of the Royal Bodyguard. How their stories pan out allows me to embroider Hardrada’s with plenty of juicy scenes and unexpected happenings.

Well, that’s me sorted for the next few months. It only remains for me to say, have a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year. May 2014 bring you all that you have ever wanted, and more!

 

2 Comments

Filed under fiction writing

2 responses to “Adventures in Writing…latest novel done and dusted!

  1. Congratulations! I love the cover.

Leave a Reply

