Adventures in Writing – a personal journey by Stuart G Yates…a little about the minefield called ‘publishers’.

Mistakes happen.

Whether we choose to LEARN from them, that is the point.

The mantra is, to learn from the mistakes we make…but I’m as guilty as the rest, by putting my hands up and saying, ‘I haven’t’.

I’ll try to explain.

Firstly, however, an apology. I haven’t blogged for a while. I’ve been in a region the French call ‘The Russian Mountains’ and have not felt the urge to put my thoughts down. Often, when I do, people come back with criticisms, so I thought ‘to hell with it’. I’ve never been one to stand on a soapbox. I quietly get on with what I do. And when I succeed, despite the negativity surrounding me, I seldom stand up and shout, ‘I told you so’. So, I prefer to keep quiet.

I’ve also been on holiday! Back to the UK, to visit my lovely daughter, and some friends. And I had the best time. I hate Spain now, am desperate to leave. All I need is a job, then I’m gone. I’ve had enough, but that’s another story. Maybe I’ll blog about that some time. We’ll see.

This is not the mistake I mentioned above, although the mistake of coming to Spain was massive!

No, this one is about publishers.

Like most would-be writers, when I had completed my first MU I was impatient to see it in print. Back in 1978, that was an extremely involved and long process, so when I finally got my act together and embraced the digital world thirty years later in 2008, my anxiety levels guided me to seek out an independent publisher.

Now, it must be said, I had no idea what I was doing. Blind man groping in the dark. That was me. I hadn’t even thought of seeking guidance from anyone. I had ‘The Artist and Writers Yearbook’, as always. I had that in 1978. Now, of course, it included email addresses. But getting an agent was as difficult as it ever was, so I began to seek out an indie, although the process was similar. Submit a covering letter, synopsis, and the first 3 chapters.

I joined an on-line writing group. Met some interesting people, and learned a lot in a very short space of time. I got some addresses too, and began the long process. I’ve written before about WHY I write, so no need to go there again. I now NEEDED to be published. I’ve never been one to think about financial gain. That has never, ever been my guiding principal. The desire to be published has more to do with sharing my stories. I want people to be entertained, it is as simple as that. If my books sell, then that is excellent. Money is secondary, well, to be honest, it’s probably much further down the list than that! BUT, I wanted to be published. Not self-published, but ACCEPTED by others, professionals, people who knew what a good story was. I still feel that way. That is why I’ll never self-publish. Who is there out there amongst friends who would have the balls to tell you, ‘actually, mate, your work is crap’ when you self-publish? But I digress, and I don’t want to upset people AGAIN….so…

I made mistakes. Of course I did. My first publisher was a crook. I submitted to many more. Rejections followed. Lots of them. I got depressed, but I never stopped writing. Even when I was submitting my book, I continued to graft. Write. Think. Imagine. That is something I have always done. So many stories to write, so little time.

I suppose that was the thing that undermined me. My impatience. I was 50. I’d been dreaming of being a writer since…maybe from the age of 11. That’s a long time, and I had hardly done a thing about it. How many years have I got left? God knows, so I wasn’t about to hang around. I HAD to get published, to do what I always wanted.

So, when I finally found a publisher who liked my work enough to go ahead and publish it, I was totally bowled over.

Then, came the sledgehammer.

They wanted to charge me for the privilege!

Well…we’ll see how this pans out….next time. So come back soon.

Thanks for those who have ‘liked’ this blog.

My work, and where to buy it, is all detailed on my websites:

www.stuartgyates.com

and

www.glennstuart.co.uk

Please pop along and take a look at some of my work. Maybe you’ll like what you see so much you even be tempted buy a copy, or two. I hopes so!  ‘Roadkill’ (http://www.amazon.com/Roadkill-ebook/dp/B00CWPQC8A/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1373571161&sr=1-1&keywords=stuart+g+yates)  is my latest, and is at a great price on Kindle and Nook right now!

Take care, and keep reading!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under fiction writing

Leave a Reply

