Adventures in Writing – a personal view by Stuart G Yates…the thrill of the blank page.

I still wake up at the weekends with that buzz rushing through me. I’m going to fill a blank piece of paper with something which has never existed before. I’ll never get used to the feeling.

During my second bout of unemployment, before I became a rent-collector for the local council, I’d lock myself away in my room, turn on the turntable and listen to Tangerine Dream – or even a spot of Beethoven – pull out the Olivetti and create new worlds. In those distant days, deeply immersed in Lord of the Rings as I was, fantasy took a hold of me, something I could not shake loose. I sketched out a story, worked out the characters (I even painted some of them!), scenes, etc. Writing it became a joy, a thrill. I disappeared into that world for the entire day, every day.

Trilogy of terror

The ‘Trilogy of Terror’ pitting Robbie and Max against Sumarian demons and their human acolytes.
I loved writing these.

I’ve always been this way. When I was first published, as Glenn Stuart, those fantasy tales were finally out there. Today, that thrill continues to hold me tight.

Now, I write at weekends and holidays. If I ever find myself in the fortunate position of having been accepted by a publisher, I’ll work on the re-writes in the evening as well. I’m doing that at the moment. I’m working on the re-writes of my next novel, ‘Varangian’ which pits the Viking Harald Hardrada against all and sundry. The editor is astute, sharp and totally supportive. I couldn’t ask for anything more. Given that, however, it is my free time that I look forward to most.

The problem with writing is, of course, time. It simply disappears, to the detriment of everything else. Living in Spain, the shops close at 2pm, and do not open again until around 6pm. I often forget, writing through until 2.30 sometimes. Then I remember I’ve got no milk, or something equally necessary. One of the reasons why I hanker after returning to the UK. A little touch of normality. I don’t care about the rain; I don’t notice it. I’m inside my book. The ‘real world’ can wait.

What I’m coming to is the idea of writing being simply JOY. I love it. I’m not sure what I would do if I didn’t write. Become very miserable, that’s for sure. But the creating of new worlds, that is what thrills me. All those made-up conversations, the ranting, the raving, the soft, sweet caresses, then other aspects – the  bark of gunfire, the slash of the blade, my world is whatever I want it to be. I’m very lucky to have a fertile imagination. I’m even luckier in having the ability to string words together in something akin to comprehensibility (try typing that on an Olivetti!). I only wish I could do it for longer; or that the time would go more slowly.

I’ve got so much to do, you see. That’s the problem. Four novels to rewrite, and two more to write. But, do you know what…I wouldn’t have it any other way.

My work can be found on my two websites – for young adult paranormal mysteries (3 of which are set on the Wirral) visit www.glennstuart.co.uk

For adult thrillers visit: www.stuartgyates.com

Thanks for dropping by and see you soon.

2 Comments

Filed under fiction writing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Adventures in Writing – a personal view by Stuart G Yates…the thrill of the blank page.

  1. I concur. I have taken a break from writing. I tend to binge-write when some calamity decides to draw me in. If you’d care to look at my writing, you can find me at maybepoet47.blogspot.com

    • Will do, Simon, and thanks for droping by. I tend to write, if calamity calls, or not. I had a ‘break’ that lasted for a number of years, but I never stopped believing that one day I would get published. On my 50th birthday I decided to do something about it, and I haven’t stopped since. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

