Adventures in Writing…a personal journey by Stuart G Yates, Part 10

Today has been a good day. I’m off work for half-term, so that’s allowed me time to get down at least 3,000 words. It’s not always so easy, however. Trying to juggle my work as a teacher with my passion for writing is a difficult act to accomplish successfully. Holidays times are always best for me; I begin at 8am, and write until at least 1pm, breaking off somewhere for a quick bite to eat. However, the words always pull me back, which I love. Work time, however, is different. I have to try and write at least something, either in the evening, or in my lunch hour. Yes, I can do that. Thirty minutes when the inspiration hits me.

With the publication of ‘Accursed Dawn’ I now had to settle down and write a sequel. I’d always longed to write historical based fiction, possibly because I love history so much. I teach it, so it seemed the natural thing to do. I’d always had a yearning to write stories based around William’s conquest of England from 1066 onwards, but this particular storyline simply wouldn’t fit.

As I read through some books, it began to dawn on me that I could link in my tale with that of Vlad Tepes. The Impaler. Dracula. And why not? Everybody else seemed to be getting on the bandwagon of writing fiction wrapped around the vampire legends. The more I researched, the more things developed. The villain of my previous work – Accursed Dawn – had escaped at the end of the book. Now it was up to the hero to track him down. So I made him into a vampire. As a young man he had worked for the Medici family, cataloguing work for them in their extensive library. He was sent to meet Michael Corvinus, the ruler of Hungary who, of course, had connections with Vlad Drakul. All of this is historical fact. Corvinus owned a magnificent library, so my villain found himself there, working for the king. But Corvinus had a problem – and this again is all documented fact. His daughter had fallen in love with Vlad Tepes. Corvinus believed Tepes was insane, and he was concerned that it might be hereditary. How to stop his daughter marrying him and having his child?

Interesting, eh?

Well, I hope it is. And if you’ve kept up so far, you’ll want to know what happens next.

Well, the answer is simple. The villain becomes a vampire, and our hero has to destroy him. But by so doing, he too becomes embroiled with Tepes…and so it goes on.

The final part of the trilogy of terror, Death’s Dark Design

The plotting of stories is, for me, one of the great joys of story writing. Bringing all the threads together, weaving a tale of mystery and suspense that will have readers guessing right up until the end.

I do this with my recent thrillers too. Now that I am writing adult material, I still follow the rules of mystery, intrigue, puzzles and red herrings. I love it, plotting out a time line of events and fusing all of it into a believable and satisfying read. Perhaps ‘Death’s Dark Design’ is not believable; it might be if you are fourteen or fifteen, but I still think it is a cracking tale. You have to believe in your work, see it through. For me, ‘Death’s Dark Design’ is the best thing I’ve written for young adults. I loved writing it, doing all that history, bringing it all together so the final, dramatic page would leave readers gasping. There are things I would change, perhaps. One day. But for now, I still think it packs a punch.

All of my work is available on Amazon, and you can find details of what I do, as well as my latest published works, on my websites.

For young adult readers, visit: www.glennstuart.co,.uk

For adult material:  www.stuartgyates.com

Keep reading and thanks for dropping by.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

