Some questions for the author

Well, this is unuusual for me…a blog post before Friday1

Whoa!!!

so, what’s it all about…

Well, it’s simple. some people have been asking about me and have posted some questions. so, hetre they are, together with my answers which you masy find of interest. I hope so! Questions to the author…mm…sounds exciting, so let’s see…

WHAT IS THE WORKING TITLE OF YOUR BOOK?
Road Kill
WHERE DID THE IDEA COME FROM FOR THE BOOK?
I worked in Cornwall, England, right in the middle of Bodmin Moor. An incredibly mysterious and haunting place, I heard lots of stories about ghosts and THE BEAST OF BODMIN. I’d often drive across the Moor, late at night after meetings at the school where I taught, and I could imagine any number of terrible beasties lurking in the spiralling mist.
WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?
It’s an adult thriller. No frills, no pretentions. A pure, escapist adrenalin ride, I hope!
WHICH ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY YOUR CHARACTERS IN A MOVIE RENDITION?

Whoa, what a question…for Salmon, the poor, down-trodden teacher in the centre of all this mayhem, that would be…Mathew Broderick. Fragile, innocent, confused, lost. For Ralph, the psychotic, demented and deranged killer, that would probably be someone like…ME!!!
WHAT IS THE ONE-SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?

Through the mysterious Moor, a shadow stalks, at once large and loathsome, and it is coming for you.
WILL YOUR BOOK BE SELF-PUBLISHED OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENCY?
Er…I’m hoping it will be taken up by my publisher, Moonshinecovepublishing.com.
HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE THE FIRST DRAFT OF YOUR MANUSCRIPT?
Mm, well the idea has been playing around in my head for about…twenty years…but the actual writing took maybe 4 weeks.
WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY TO WITHIN YOUR GENRE?
American Psycho. Even though it is not American. It tries to convey what seemingly ordinary folk can get up to when they are pitched into the abyss.
WHO OR WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS BOOK?
Bodmin Moor. There is a cottage on the Moor, which is old and abandoned, and which is visited by schoolchildren. I went there. It was bleak, and that was on a sunny afternoon in summer. Imagine the difference in winter, with the fog, the cold, the cry of the night beats. Wow!

WHAT ELSE ABOUT YOUR BOOK MIGHT PIQUE THE READER’S INTEREST?It’s got lots of sex and violence. What more could you want?

So, there we are, some answers about my book ROAD KILL which is right this minute I am editing. Hopefully, all being well, it will be published around December for you all to enjoy.I have certainly enjoyed writing it. But then, I say that about all my books.

If this has sparked your interest, why not visit

http://www.nicksweet.co.uk/apps/blog/

and find out what Nick Sweet has to say about his writing.

Soon, my latest YA thriller will be available. you can discover my paranormal thrillers, written for Young Adults on…www.glennstuart.co.uk

For those of you who prefer adult matetrial why not pop along to www.stuartgyates.com to discover my latest adult adventure, BURNT OFFERING which has been receiving some very good reviews.

Until then, see you Friday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

